No 100 Groucho Marx

Groucho_Marx_Quote01

“Well, art is art, isn’t it? Still, on the other hand, water is water! And east is east and west is west and if you take cranberries and stew them like apple sauce they taste much more like prunes than rhubarb does. Now, uh… now you tell me what you know.”  Groucho Marx

What better way to commemorate the one hundredth Art Quote of the Day than with a real artist of comedy?!

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Quote and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to No 100 Groucho Marx

  1. seascapesaus says:

    Ah, confusion! I suppose we deserve a bit of a wisecrack.

    • I’m allowed a bit of latitude for the centenary, surely!

      • seascapesaus says:

        you bet! I can’t think how Groucho would have phrased the answer). Indubitably?

        • I was tempted to use Groucho’s quote “A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.” but my selection of an art work to go with it might have been a very personal comment. For example, I can’t understand Two Pieces of Burnt Toast on a Plate of Jam by Rothko but other people rate him.

          • seascapesaus says:

            That’s a great Groucho quote!
            I think Rothko rates because he was unique at the time, but his work can look rather empty on its own. I saw an interesting retrospective at the Guggenheim a few years ago. It showed the development of work through drawings, sculpture and painting becoming more and more distilled until the final work (of 300 or so) in the small room at the top was a projected circle of light on the wall. Painted himself into a corner, literally. Navels are not really so interesting….

            • It’s the old conundrum! Do you need to understand the artist to be able to understand the work? Or should the work speak for itself, irrespective of who or how? I admit I know nothing about Rothko other than what I’ve seen on gallery walls. Should I study him in the hope that I can appreciate his work? At the moment it is very much Burnt Toast to me.

              • seascapesaus says:

                Life is too short to study burnt toast I reckon. An Australian artist I knew moved into Rothko’s NY studio just after his suicide there so that stuck in my mind a bit. In my ignorance he reminds me of the chap who worked until he had distilled the essence and found a circle of light. I wonder whether Rothko’s painting drove him mad or left him with nothing.

Leave a Reply

