No 202 Ludolf Backhuysen/David Hockney

ludolf-backhuysen-the-warship-brielle-on-the-maas-before-rotterdam-david-hockney-quote

“I’m a bit claustrophobic, I don’t like crowds, I live by the sea – that’s what I see when I come out of my house in Bridlington.” David Hockney

Ludolf Backhuysen was born on 28th December 1631. I’ve not been able to find any quotes by him but as he was a major maritime painter during the Dutch Golden Age, I have used a quote about the sea from David Hockney! (The painting is not of Bridlington, but of the Maas before Rotterdam)

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Quote and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No 202 Ludolf Backhuysen/David Hockney

  1. seascapesaus says:

    Goodness, John – 202! Sorry I must have missed some.

Leave a Reply

