No 206 Eugene J. Martin

Eugene-J-Martin-the_duchess_of_texas-quote

“There are opposing forces in all living things. My work reflects this and stirs up a contrast of emotions in the viewer… perception versus annoyance. To the viewer who has reached that level of awareness, my work is no longer abstract, but very real.” Eugene J. Martin, an American painter who died 1st January 2005.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to No 206 Eugene J. Martin

  1. Y. Prior says:

    I really like the vivid colors in this piece and the texturing in that “periwinkle” blue- the shapes are interesting in this piece too – and with no disrespect to the artist and his mature work, but this piece feels like a child’s play place at the mall (to me that is) ha ha – do you happen to have the title to this piece?

    • As far as I know it’s called The Duchess of Texas.
      I found it here: http://arte-walk.blogspot.co.uk/2011/04/dancing-bean-and-more-at-noaam.html
      I didn’t use all the painting as I tend to trim to 800px x 600 px.

      • Y. Prior says:

        Thanks for the title – but wow – there was more to the picture – this is just my opinion – but I feel like you really should give us the whole painting – there are other ways to reduce the size – which I am sure you know – like export it and then select a size – or on your desktop I think there are ways to press “i” and alter size – or toss it into word – take a screen shot and then name it. But it is wrong to crop so much out – whether it be actual sections of color and an entire bottom – or even to just crop part of blank section – because it interferes with the delivering an accurate composition. Gosh, I am so surprised and disappointed – and I did not notice because I had never seen the painting before – and now to find out that I still did not see the painting (until you gave me that link) well I feel a little slighted.

        Anyhow, just my opinion, but I do not think you should trim the artwork – it corrupts the piece and takes away from our exposure and experience to rich art – which is what brought me to your blog.
        🙂

        • I am sorry that you feel disappointed and slighted. There are other quote sites many of which produce just the quote on a plain background relying entirely on the font. I try to link the quote to a piece by the artist being quoted. However I have tried to standardise on a 600 px by 800 px landscape format which usually involves cropping the original work. I have never claimed to have used the whole work and unless it is in a 3:4 landscape ratio I can’t/won’t. I have chosen to have a standard size and shape for my image. The only concession I could make is to have a link to the page where I found the original so people can see the work before I ‘corrupted’ it.

  2. Y. Prior says:

    Thanks – but it just feels wrong to present an artist’s piece in sections like that – because we need every section of the work in order to feel what the artist actually created. And I know some who feel as if inserting the quote into the picture is wrong – and while I am on the fence on that – I feel as if you add your adds so creatively that it is more than okay – and adds to the piece.

    anyhow, thanks for the reply – and I understand if you choose to not (or cannot) add the whole piece (but it is terrible to not) and it really would help to link it and inform folks –
    thanks again 🙂

  3. Y. Prior says:

    and one more comment – I understand that your blog is more about the “quote” from the artist – than say the actual art piece featured – so you get a little more grace here….

  4. Y. Prior says:

    also want to just say sorry if I offended you in any way. 🙂 that was not my intention –

Leave a Reply

