No 317 Ansel Adams

Tenaya Lake, Clouds, Afternoon, Yosemite, California

There are no rules for good photographs; there are only good photographs.” Ansel Adams who died April 22, 1984.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Quote and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to No 317 Ansel Adams

  1. writingbolt says:

    That’s been my luck, at least:P If I try to follow any rules (if my mind can recollect any), I might get frustrated when the image isn’t as perfect as I’d like. Yet, even with my lesser camera, I can achieve some great shots just by chance. I consider it divine blessing.

    • I sometimes wonder if we apply rules subconsciously. For example I don’t usually think about the rule of thirds but important parts of the composition finish up on the intersection of thirds.

      • writingbolt says:

        Care to explain this rule of thirds (of which I have never heard)? It sounds like a musical term.

        We only apply rules subconsciously after they’ve been slapped into us by instructors/teachers/gurus. It becomes like a reflex. Yet, it seems human for us to ignore our “conscience”. And, I still puzzle over this. Do kids and adults only deviate from the rule to test patience and get attention? Or, is there some other instinctual trait that says, “I don’t have to do that right now.”?

          • writingbolt says:

            Yeah….that’s one of those “old school” rules I would expect my elementary teachers and priests/nuns to drill into my head like “stranger danger”. It sounds a bit strict and “bongos” to always place a mental grid over every image we capture and try to make something pop along those lines.

            My “rule of thumb” is this. See it, frame it, capture the picture. And, always keep your eyes open…but give them a rest, too. Great pictures are just waiting to be found all around us. We just have to be in the moment. A fashion photographer can snap off hundreds or thousands of frames of some model posing on a set and filter them down to one or two keepers…and still maybe not be satisfied. But, some of the best photos ever are captured with a story and spontaneously. Awen.

            When I notice something worth photographing, I hope I have my camera, steady my shaky hand as best I can and snap the picture like an archer on the fly. If I am lucky, I might have time to adjust for settings and the like. But, that usually costs me the shot. If I don’t get the shot, it wasn’t meant to happen.

Leave a Reply

