No 404 Thomas Moran

thomas_moran_grand_canyon_quote

“Of all places on earth the great canyon of Arizona is the most inspiring in its pictorial possibilities.” Thomas Moran. This evening I’ve been at an exhibition opening at the Portico Library in Manchester. One of the speakers stressed the effect of Bolton-born Moran on American history when he showed his paintings of the wild frontier to the people of the eastern states. They did not realise what their country had in the west. It ultimately lead to the establishment of Yellowstone as the first national park.

I have been very good. I was tempted to have a blank picture today which had the quote across the middle “Error 404 Art Quote Not Found”.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Quote and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment